Forces Pension Society

Fighting for the forces and their families

Past Officers

Past Presidents

The first President was elected in 1953, before which the Chairman headed the Society, and here are the past-Presidents in the history of the Society.

1953-1961General the Lord Jeffreys KCB KCVO GMG JP DL
1962-1966Field Marshal Sir Francis Festing GCB KBE DSO
1967-1970Lieutenant General Sir Ernest Down KBE CB
1971-1977General the Lord Bourne GCB KBE CMG
1977-1984Admiral Sir Desmond Dreyer GCB CBE DSC
1984-1993Air Chief Marshal Sir Ruthven Wade KCB DFC
1994-1999General Sir John Archer KCB OBE
1999-2006Air Chief Marshal Sir Patrick Hine GCB GBE
2006-2013General Sir Roger Wheeler GCB CBE

Past Chairmen

In 1946 the Council comprised a chairman and three others (one from each Service). There was also a secretary and an honorary treasurer. Here we list past-Chairmen of the Society.

1946-1947Captain Russell Grenfell RN
1947-1948Air Commodore L L MacLean
1949-1956Captain Sir Henry Digby-Beste CIE OBE RIN
1956-1959Admiral Sir Charles Daniel KCB CBE DSO
1959-1964Lieutenant General Sir Ernest Down KCB CB
1964-1971General the Lord Bourne GCB KBE CMG
1971-1975Major General Sir Gerald Duke KBE CB DSO
1975-1982Air Marshal Sir Harold Maguire KCB DSO OBE
1982-1989Admiral Sir Peter White GBE
1990-2001Air Chief Marshal Sir David Evans GCB CBE
2001-2006Air Chief Marshal Sir Roger Palin KCB OBE
2006-2011Vice Admiral Sir Michael Moore KBE LVO
2011-2014Air Marshal Sir Christopher Coville KCB
2014-2017Vice Admiral Peter Wilkinson CB CVO

Past General Secretaries

The first Secretary was appointed in 1948, renamed General Secretary in 1949.  Here is a list of past General Secretaries in the history of the Society.

General Secretaires
1948-1952Lieutenant Colonel R W Tobin
1952-1966Captain P C Bullock OBE RN
1967-1980Rear Admiral F P B Brayne-Nicholls CB DSC
1980-1990Major General L W A Gingell CB OBE
1990-1994Major General Sir Laurence New CB CBE
1994-2000Major General Peter Bonnet CB MBE
2000-2007Major General James Gordon CBE
2007-2015Major General John Moore-Bick CBE DL
2015-2018John Pitt-Brooke CB